National Exchange Club Foundation

National Youth of the Year Award

The National Youth of the Year Award provides the National Exchange Club with the opportunity to honor outstanding students who have exhibited excellence in academics and leadership. It is the culmination of an effort by hundreds of Exchange Clubs across the country to identify and recognize the young leaders of our nation. The recipient serves as a role model to his or her peers, by exhibiting exceptional scholastic achievement, respect for self and others, and ambitious career goals. Our National Youth of the Year recipients have illustrated that the diligent pursuit of higher ideals truly brings rewards.

The process for selecting the National Youth of the Year begins at the club level. Exchange Clubs provide a monthly recognition of outstanding youth in their communities. Each club selects a Youth of the Year and forwards an application for district judging. District honorees are judged at the national level for the final selection of the prestigious National Youth of the Year.

The National Youth of the Year receives a $10,000 scholarship and the opportunity to address hundreds of Exchangites at the National Youth Recognition Luncheon. In addition, the recipients winning essay is featured in Exchange Today magazine.

The National Youth of the Year program begins at the club level. For questions, contact your high school guidance counselor or your local Exchange Club.

National Youth of the Year Award Recipients

  • 1973   Helen A. Meredith, Burlington, North Carolina
  • 1974   John Blebea, Alliance, Ohio
  • 1975   Marc Irwin Teren, San Jose, California
  • 1976   David H. Daniel, Pulaski, Tennessee
  • 1977   Elisa Beth Wolfe, Modesto, California
  • 1978   Melody Mosley, Nashville, Tennessee
  • 1979   Melissa Anne Bradley, Mansfield, Ohio
  • 1980   Carolyn Reiser, Jacksonville, Florida
  • 1981   Robert Raben, North Miami Beach, Florida
  • 1982   Charles F. Knapp, Mason City, Iowa
  • 1983   Daniel B. Murrey, Pulaski, Tennessee
  • 1984   Jacob D. Hill, Columbia, South Carolina
  • 1985   Francis K. Beadle, Bakersfield, California
  • 1986   Erich P. Horn, Micanopy, Florida
  • 1987   Laura Anne Menninger, Macon, Georgia
  • 1988   James H. Stilwell, Houston, Texas
  • 1989   Kourosh Adyani, Anaheim, California
  • 1990   Michael Alan Rotar, Oroville, California
  • 1991   Sohail F. Tavazoie, Sandy, Utah
  • 1992   Catherine Wentz Clapp, Dallas, Texas
  • 1993   Kayren Jamelle Shoffner, Hampton, Virginia
  • 1994   Eden Rauch, Branchburg, New Jersey
  • 1995   Mark Ellis, Martinsville, New Jersey
  • 1996   Lisa Giuli, Salt Lake City, Utah
  • 1997   Paul Leonardi, San Leandro, California
  • 1998   Michelle Chang, Sugar Land, Texas
  • 1999   Meredith Johnson, Lynchburg, Virginia
  • 2000   Hillary Anne Underwood, Augusta, Georgia
  • 2001   Roni Pomerantz, Fresno, California
  • 2002   Larry OMalley, Collierville, Tennesee
  • 2003   Brittany Adkins, Brentwood, Tennessee
  • 2004   Lauren Krainski, Fairview, Pennsylvania
  • 2005   Kathryn Lewis Dambrino, Grenada, Mississippi
  • 2006   Lauren Hartman, Poquoson, Virginia
  • 2007   Callie Miller, Auburn, California
  • 2008   Selena Farnesi, Fresno, California
  • 2009   Julia Burd
  • 2010   Tawney Hughes
  • 2011   Austin Javellana
  • 2012   Anisa Mughal
  • 2013   Russell L. Risden
  • 2014   EmRee Moody

National A.C.E. of the Year Award

The A.C.E. awards honor students that have overcome great obstacles in their lives, such as mental, physical, emotional or social challenges, and go on to High School.

National A.C.E. of the Year Award Recipients

  • 2000   Magdelena Salcedo, Salt Lake City, Utah
  • 2001   Jacquelyn Wax, Moraine, Ohio
  • 2002   Latasha D. Bodet, Grenada, Mississippi
  • 2003   Sarah Brown, Dayton, Ohio
  • 2004   Sierra Simmons, St. Petersburg, Florida
  • 2005   Tyrone Evans Clark, Benton Harbor, Michigan
  • 2006   Kirsten Young, Murray, Utah
  • 2007   Kaeley Kays, Charleston, South Carolina
  • 2008   Gremako and Tremako Hopson, Downtown Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
  • 2009   Je'Vour Taylor
  • 2010   Javier Cardenas
  • 2011   Tori Dahl
  • 2012   Fortune Kalala
  • 2013   Deongelo Quihuis
  • 2014   Keisha Ickes
National Exchange Club Foundation

3050 Central Ave.
Toledo, OH 43606-1700
Phone: 419-535-3232
Toll-free: 800-XCHANGE (924-2643)
Fax: 419-535-1989

Administrative Department

Tracey Edwards, NEC Executive Vice President
Debbie Baldwin, Development Manager